Wednesday, November 30, 2011

Ryan G. ToFG: 1,000 Pt. Wrap-up

So the 1,000 points month is done, and I have to say that I am still enjoying the Ogres.  It has not been too painful keeping up with 500 pts. per month, but I cut it pretty close this time.

Here are my two lions that I am using for my Sabertusks.  These guys proved to work pretty well, but are very fragile.  I like them for the extra drops for the army during the deployment phase.

The Scraplauncher also did rather well.  Its not a game breaker, but is useful for killing off the last bits of chaff, or even going into a combat for some additional support.

For next month and the 1,500 point list I'm adding a Level 2 Butcher, 6 Ironguts, and a Gorger.

Only 4 Ironguts are pictured because the other two had to take a bath to have their paint stripped off them.  This unit will add some major hitting power to my army, but I'm not sure how much I will need it at this point.  We'll see if the points are worth this unit at this time or not.  After my last game with Joe, the spell Crack's Call made me realize I am going to need some magic defense or these game will be very one sided.  A Butcher with a dispel scroll should get the job done for the time being.  The Gorger is just there because I like them.  Its good for artillary hunting, or for that extra flank support.

Ogre Kingdoms have shown themselves to be a very solid army so far, and I'm excited to see how they will perform at higher points levels.

Ryan G


Joe Flesch said...

Crack's Call isn't quite as dangerous as you think. I'm only running a single level 2 so only have a 1 in 6 chance of actually rolling it, and I'm not much more likely to roll the doubles required to let me just choose it. Still, I think at 1,500 you will definitely see overall army improvement with a little magic for yourself.

Cpjiardina said...

Getting that 1 spell can spell out Doom for almost an entire unit....I still see you using it Joe. I don't want you to get that spell versus me either, probably needs FAQ'd :)

Cpjiardina said...

fyi ryan

This is a nice clarification against those rats! Watch out for them IB's!!!

Q: If a template hits a Screaming Bell or Plague Furnace being
ridden by a character, how is this resolved? (p42 & p48)
A: It is resolved as per the template rules in the Shooting at
Ridden Monsters section on page 105 in the Warhammer
For example: a Rock Lobber hits A Screaming Bell ridden by
a Grey Seer. The central hole is over the base. As such a D6 is
rolled to determine who takes the Strength 9 hit. A 4 is rolled
and so the Screaming Bell takes the Strength 9 hit while the
Grey Seer takes the Strength 3 hit.

Also something that effects us.

Q: If a shot from a Warp Lightning Cannon does not kill a
Monstrous Infantry/Beast/Cavalry or Monster model does that shot
stop? (p68)
A: No. All models are still hit.

Q: Is the 4D6” line from Crack’s Call a template? (p78)
A: Yes.

Hello LoS roll!!!